Companies on fortrabbit

Your fortrabbit Account represents YOU and is your personal login and path to access Apps. A Company on fortrabbit helps you to structure and manage team and billing aspects of your Apps.

┌─────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│                       Company                       │
│                                                     │
│    Apps           Accounts        Billing Contacts  │
│  ┌─────────────┐ ┌──────────────┐ ┌──────────────┐  │
│  │ {{app-one}} │ │  {{owner1}}  │ │ {{Billing1}} │  │
│  ├─────────────┤ ├──────────────┤ ├──────────────┤  │
│  │ {{app-two}} │ │  {{owner2}}  │ │ {{Billing1}} │  │
│  ├─────────────┤ ├──────────────┤ └──────────────┘  │
│  │{{app-three}}│ │  {{admin2}}  │                   │
│  └─────────────┘ ├──────────────┤                   │
│                  │  {{admin1}}  │                   │
│                  └──────────────┘                   │
│                                                     │
└─────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

The above illustration shows how Companies, Apps, Accounts and Billing Contacts relate to each other:

  • Each App belongs to a Company.
  • A Company can have multiple Apps.
  • A Company can have multiple members ("employees") to collaborate on the Apps.
  • A Company also can have multiple Billing Contacts to pay for the Apps.
  • Each App is associated with one Billing Contact of the Company.

Managing Companies

We believe in graceful disclosure: Companies are virtually invisible and for all intends and purposes synonym to your Account - until you need them.

Creating a Company

You can create as many Companies as you need — free of charge. In the the Dashboard > Your Account > Companies > "Create a Company" button. Following the guided create process, you will not only create a new Company, but also it's first Billing Contact. Once created, you will be the Owner of the new Company.

Deleting a Company

As an Owner you can also decide to delete your Company. This is a huge step, as all Apps owned by the Company will be deleted and all the team will loose access. To do so: In the Dashboard > Your Account > Companies > {{ Your Company }} > Hit the "Delete Company" button and follow the instructions.

Leaving a Company

With Company collaboration (see below) you can also leave a Company. That will keep the Company with fortrabbit, but you will loose access. When you cancel your Account and you are part of a Company with Owners left, you will leave the Company.

Collaboration

There are two levels of collaboration

  1. App level collaboration: Grant code access on a per-App basis
  2. Company level collaboration: Grant company-wide access to all Apps and the Companies themselves

Since collaboration can easily become rather complex, we also have collaboration overview article, which shows you the big picture.

Automatic resource exhaustion alerts

Each App with fortrabbit has limited resources, most of them are scalable or extendible. We advice to start small and only scale when needed. Some resources scale by usage. For example, when your App has users who are uploading images, the web space or the Object Storage space will get fuller and fuller by time.

All collaborators on the App will see those usage metrics at the App overview in the Dashboard. When a resource is about to hit the limit, it will be shown in a yellow color to alert you.

All Owners of the App will get an e-mail, once a usage metric is about to hit the limit. Please see our specs page to learn about the resources with App alerts and how the limits are handled.

Working with multiple Companies

Just like in real life, you can create or join any number of Companies with your Account. So one Account can own multiple Companies while also being involved in other Companies as Admins or even App level collaborators.

Moving an App from one Company to another

In some cases you might want to move the App to a different Company. This will change billing AND team. Of course you first need to be at least Admin in two Companies.

Changing the Company of an App

  1. Go to the App in the Dashboard, click the "Change ownership" button
  2. This will open a form, where you choose a different Company (and Billing Contact)

This action can only be done by Accounts who have Owner or Admin privileges on both Companies.

Billing Contacts

A Billing Contact represents the payment details which are used by fortrabbit to bill you. Usually you need only one, but in some instances you need one App to be paid by one credit card and another App to be paid by another credit card. Billing Contacts allow that: A Company within fortrabbit is a container to manage billing aspects. Within one Company you can create multiple Billing Contacts and then assign individual Apps to either Billing Contacts. In contrast to using multiple Companies: you can still manage the same developer team on the Company.

A Billing Contact persists of:

  • A payment method, which can be credit card or SEPA direct debit (EU only)
  • A billing address, which will be written on the invoice
  • A billing e-mail address, to which the invoices will be send to

Each App (except trial Apps) has is always associated with a specific Billing Contact. Each Billing Contact has its own invoice archive. Please also see the billing article.

Creating a Billing Contact

You can create any number of Billing Contact free of charge in the Dashboard > Your Account > Companies > {{ Your Company }} > "New Billing Contact" button. Follow the steps. You will be asked for an invoice address and a payment method. This will give you an empty Billing Contact, no costs, as long as you don't assign an App to the Billing Contact. You must be Owner of the Company for this.

Do this when you want certain Apps to be charged from a different credit card but want to keep team and access settings for the App.

Deleting a Billing Contact

You cannot, because they are bound to previously created invoices and are needed for our accounting. You can, of course, delete or move all Apps away from a Billing Contact so that it becomes inactive and no more bills will be created for it. As the Billing Contact also contains an archive of previously issued invoices, you can always access your old invoices.

Changing the billing e-mail address

Each month we'll send an invoice and send a link by e-mail. You can change this e-mail to go directly to your book keeping department. Within the Dashboard > Your Account > Companies (Your Company) > Billing Contact > "Invoice e-mail".

Changing the Billing Contact of an App

In the Dashboard, go to your App and hit the "Change ownership" button. Here you can change the Company (and the team), as well as the Billing Contact (only affects billing). You must be Owner of the Company for this.

Moving an App from one Billing Contact to another

In case you want the App to be billed from another credit card or bank account but still want to keep the team of the App the same: You simply change the Billing Contact of the App. You first need to have at least two Billing Contacts with your Company.

Changing the Billing Contact of an App

  1. Go to the App in the Dashboard, click the "Change ownership" button
  2. This will open a form, where you choose a different Billing Contact

This action can only be executed by Owners or Admins of a Company. The App will then be billed on the old Billing Contact until that day of change and from the next day on to the new Billing Contact. For example: If you move your App on the 15ths of a month to the Billing Contact of another Company, it will be billed until the 15ths to the old Billing Contact and starting from the 16ths to the new Billing contact.

Further readings

Search help pages

Need individual help?

Get support › Learn about Company plans ›

Looking for an old article?

See the full list of articles ›

Found an error?

Contribute on GitHub ›